Arc De Triomphe

Arc De Triomphe

Arc de TriompheThe Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe is regarded as the premier Group 1 horse race in Europe which is open to thoroughbreds, three-years-old or above and is run over a distance of 1½ miles. It takes place annually at the famous Longchamp Racecourse in Paris on the first Sunday in October.

The latest running in October 2008, the 'Arc' as it is commonly referred to, was won by the brilliant and unbeaten filly, Zarkava, who was subsequently hailed as the greatest filly ever.

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe Race Card

The race is the feature of a two day racing extravaganza at Longchamp and is preceded on the second day by four other Group 1 races and is followed by a fifth Group 1, before the meeting is brought to a close with a handicap. The race card is as follows:

Past winners

The Arc de Triomphe Odds has a Roll of Honour which is simply liettered with horse racing superstars. It is a race that only the very best can win and where only the very best do win. Just take a look at the past winners over the last ten years.

2008Zarkava3Christophe SoumillonAlain de Royer-Dupre
2007Dylan Thomas4Kieran FallonAiden O'Brien
2006Rail Link3Stephane PasquierAndre Fabre
2005Hurricane Run3Kieran FallonAndre Fabre
2004Bago3Thierry GilletJonathan Pease
2003Dalakhani3Christophe SoumillonAlain de Royer-Dupre
2002Marienbard5Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor
2001Sakhee4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor
2000Sinndar3Johnny MurtaghJohn Oxx
1999Montjeu3Mick KinaneJohn Hammond