Dubai Horse Racing

Dubai Horse Racing

The Dubai Horse Racing season is becoming increasingly popular and it runs from January through to March with meetings taking place every Thursday night. The meetings have taken place at the Nad Al Sheba Racecourse in the past but from 2010 the Festival will take place at the brilliant new Meydan Racecourse. The new course has been designed to cement Dubai's place as the Horse Racing capital of the world and by the looks of things they have achieved just that.

Some of the best trainers from around the world now take their horses to Dubai to run as each race offers huge prize money that is unparalleled in the Sport. The Godolphin stable always have strong horses in Dubai and they are ones to watch with retained jockey Frankie Dettori a regular every Thursday night.

Dubai World Cup

The Dubai World Cup is the highlight of the Dubai Horse Racing Festival as it is the worlds richest horse race and attracts some of the best horses aged 4 and over to Dubai. The race itself takes place on the last Saturday in March and forms the feature race of the Dubai World Cup Night which has another three Group 1 Races on the card as well as the World Cup.

The race itself is ran over 1m 2f on dirt and has been won by some of the most famous names in Racing since it was first staged in 1996. The first winner of the race was Cigar who went onto be a hall of famer horse which shows the calibre of the race. Other notable winners include Dubai Millenium in 2000 and the great Curlin who took the win in 2008. There is a staggering purse of $6million for just the Dubai World Cup race which means it is sure to grow even further over the coming years

2009 Well Armed  6 A.Gryder E.Harty       
2008 Curlin 4 R.Albarado S.Asmussen
2007 Invasor 5 F.Jara K.McLaughlin
2006 Electrocutionist 5 F.Dettori S.Bin Suroor
2005 Roses In May 5 J.Velazquez D.Romans
2004 Pleasantly Perfect 6 A.Solis R.Mandella
2003 Moon Ballad 4 F.Dettori S.Bin Suroor
2002 Street Cry 4 J.Bailey S.Bin Suroor
2001 Captain Steve 4 J.Bailey B.Baffert
2000 Dubai Millenium 4 F.Dettori S.Bin Suroor