Glorious Goodwood

Glorious Goodwood

Glorious GoodwoodSituated just five miles north of Chichester, West Sussex, Goodwood racecourse is owned and run by the family of the Duke of Richmond, whose seat is in nearby Goodwood House. Each summer at the end of July the course hosts the Glorious Goodwood meeting, which has become one of the highlights of the British flat racing season. Among the many top quality races hosted are the Susssex Stakes and the Nassau Stakes, which are both Group Ones and contested by the very best horses in training.

The racecourse is unusual with a straight six furlongs the Stewards' Cup Course, which is uphill for the first furlong and mostly downhill thereafter. There is a tight right-handed loop at the far end of the straight on which there are starts for various longer distance races. These include the 1m 2f Craven Course", the 1m 4f Greatwicke Course and the 1m 6f Bentinck Course. The start for the 2m 5f Cup Course is quite close to the winning post - horses travel outwards on the straight, around the loop and back. Throughout the loop there are severe undulations and sharp turns. The Goodwood Racecourse is used for Flat racing only.

In terms of popularity it probably ranks third behind Royal Ascot and the Epsom Derby meetings.

Glorious Goodwood Race Cards

Race Cards

Below are the race cards for all five days of Glorious Goodwood

Tuesday  29 July 2009

DAY 1Time2008 Winner
RBS Investment Stakes2.15 pmHaradasun
Gordon Stakes2.50 pmEquianno
Betfair Cup3.25 pmHenrythenavigator
Molecombe Stakes4.00 pmArt Connoisseur
Summer Stakes4.35 pmMissoula
Tatler EBF maiden Stakes5.05 pmFlashmans Papers
Turf TV Stakes5.40 pm>2008 Winner

Wednesday 30 July 2009

DAY 2Time2008 Winner
Goodwood Stakes2.15 pmAqlaam
Vintage Stakes3.30 pmSaban Perdida
Sussex Stakes3.30 pmDuke of Marmalade
BGC Stakes4.05 pmMr Aviator
Weatherby bank Fillies Stakes4.40 pmLangs Lash
Links of London Maiden Fillies Stakes5.10 pmFestivale
Kennels EBF Classified Stakes5.40 pm2008 Winner

Thursday 31 July 2009

DAY 3Time2008 Winner
Lily Langtry Fillies Stakes2.15 pmSouth Central
Audi Stakes2.50 pmMichita
Goodwood Cup3.25 pmYeats
Alphameric Vase4.00 pmFifteen Love
De Boer Stakes4.35 pmCollection
European Maiden Fillies Stakes5.05pmColony
Audi Q7 Stakes5.40 pm2008 Winner

Friday 01 August 2009

DAY 4Time2008 Winner
Coutts Glorious Stakes2.15 pmCuis Ghaire
Oak tree Stakes2.50 pmCampanologist
Totesport Mile3.30 pmLush Lashes
Richmond Stakes4.05 pmSupaseus
RSA Nursery4.40 pmPatkai
Turf Club Stewards Sprint Stakes5.10 pmRegal Parade
Turf TV Stakes5.45 pm>2008 Winner

Saturday 02 August 2009

DAY 5Time2008 Winner Stakes2.10 pmFree Agent
Thoroughbred Stakes2.45 pmMacarthur
Nassau Stakes3.20 pmKingsgate Native
Stewards Cup3.55 pmBig Timer
EBF Maiden Stakes4.30 pmSugar Ray
Blkue Square Nusery Stakes5.05 pmHonolulu
Blue Square Apprentice Stakes5.40 pm2008 Winner