Grand National

Aintree Grand National

\"GrandThe Grand National is the most famous steeplechase in the world and without doubt one of the highlights of the entire sporting calendar. The race captures the imagination of millions of people around the Horse Racing world and beyond, due to its consistent ability to produce exciting finishes and very often with heart-warming stories.

Visit this Grand National betting site for the latest news and betting odds.


The National has an incredible history and has thrown up names that are now synonymous with the race. Names such as Red Rum, Aldaniti, Foinavon, Ginger Mccain and Jenny Pitman have provided some of the biggest stories over the years.

The race itself is the ultimate test of horse and jockey. It is raced over two full circuits of a unique 2¼ mile course, where runners will face thirty of the most challenging fences in the National Hunt world.

The Fences

\"GrandEach of the sixteen fences on the course are jumped twice, with the exception of The Chair and the Water Jump, which are taken on the first circuit only.

With forty runners each year, riders naturally want a good sight of the first fence and therefore throw some caution to the wind as they try to gain a good position from the start.

The Aintree fences are amongst the most fearsome in racing, names such as Bechers Brook, Valentines Brook, The Chair and the Canal Turn have become legendary, particularly Bechers Brook. This fence does not look so daunting on the approach but has a wicked drop over the other side of nearly seven feet. The steep drop combined with an immediate left hand turn, makes the fence the most difficult steeplechase fence in the world.It is virtually guaranteed to take casualties.

Red Rum

The greatest winner of the Grand National Betting is the legendary Red Rum, who won the race three times in 1973, 1976 and 1977 and was second twice in the intervening years of 1974 and 1975. His first victory in 1973 over the top chaser Crisp, is still regarded as the greatest Grand National ever.

Past Winners

2008 Comply Or Die 9 Timmy Murphy David Pipe
2007 Silver Birch 10 Robby Power Gordon Elliott
2006 Numbersixvalverde 10 Niall Madden Martin Brassil
2005 Hedgehunter 9 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2004 Amberleigh House 12 Graham Lee Donald McCain
2003 Monty\'s Pass 10 Barry Geraghty JJ Mangan
2002 Bindaree 8 Jim Culloty N Twiston-Davies
2001 Red Marauder 11 Richard Guest Neil Mason
2000 Papillon 9 Ruby Walsh Ted Walsh
1999 Bobbyjo 9 Paul Carberry Tom Carberry