Melbourne Cup

Melbourne Cup

Melbourne CupThe Melbourne Cup is the most famous horse race in Australia with a grand history, a truly wonderful present and a guarnteed great future. It is billed as the race that stops a nation and is ran at the Flemington racecourse in Melbourne and is generally regarded as the most prestigious two mile handicap in the world. The race was originally held over two miles but following preparation for Australia's adoption of the metric system in the 1970s, the current race distance of 3,200 metres was established in 1972.


The first Melbourne Cup was won by Archer in 1861, who he won it again the following year. Famous winners of the great race include Carbine (1890), Phar Lap (1930), Peter Pan (1932 & 1934), Comic Court (1951), Rising Fast (1954), Galilee (1966), Rain Lover (1968 & 1969), Kiwi (1983), Vintage Crop (1993), Saintly (1996), Might And Power (1997) and Makybe Diva (2003, 2004 & 2005). The hat trick of consecutive wins of Makybe Diva had been considered impossible. No mare had ever won two Cups let alone three, before Makybe Diva, and she also set a weight carrying record for a mare in the 2004 Cup, and then increased that mark in the 2005 race. She was a true legend.

The master trainer JB (Bart) Cummings easily holds the record for the number of Melbourne Cup winners, with eleven. Harry White and Bobbie Lewis share the riding honours with four wins each.

Phar Lap

Melbourne Cup OddsPhar lap was a wonderful looking chestnut thoroughbred gelding who was one of the great Australian champion racehorses, who became a national icon in both Australia where he raced and in New Zealand where he was foaled. At the time of his death in 1932, Phar Lap was the third biggest equine stake-winner in the world. At his peak, bookmakers always offered very short odds on him, even refusing to accept any bets on some races. In the four years of his racing career, Phar Lap won 37 of 51 races he entered, including the Melbourne Cup Odds in 1930 with 9st 12lb on his back. During that year and the year following Phar lap won 14 races in a row

Past Winners

2008 Viewed 5 B Shinn B Cummings
2007 Efficient 4 M Rodd G Rogerson
2006 Delta Blues 5 Y Iwata K Sumii
2005 Makybe Diva 7 G Boss L Freedman
2004 Makybe Diva 6 G Boss L Freedman
2003 Makybe Diva 5 G Boss D Hall
2002 Media Puzzle 5 D Oliver D Weld
2001 Ethereal 4 S Seamer S Laxon
2000 Brew 6 K McEvoy M Maroney
1999 Rogan Josh 7 J Marshall B Cummings